The Buffalo Bills

in Bill

The AFL franchise placed in Buffalo founded by Ralph Wilson Jr. decided to  contribute to Buffalo's previous Pro-football franchise by adopting the name Bills.


The team is a member of the Eastern Division of the American Football Conference (AFC) in the NFL. The Bills began competitive play in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League and joined the NFL as part of the AFL-NFL merger. Buffalo is also the only team to win four consecutive American Football Conference Championships, and lost all four Super Bowls.


In 1988, Rookie RB Thurman Thomas adds an extra dimension to the Bills offense, as the team comes flying out of the gate winning 11 of their first 12 games, to clinch AFC East title before Thanksgiving. In the title winning victory the Bills beat the New York Jets 9-6 in the overtime as Bills fans tore down the goal posts in celebration. In the Divisional Playoffs the Bills defeated the Houston Oilers 17-10 in their first playoff game in Buffalo in 24 years.

In 1990, the Bills went to score 428 as they won their 3rd straight AFC East title, and home field with a 13-3 record. In the Divisional Playoffs they beat the Miami Dolphins 44-34 in the snow at Rich Stadium. Smelling the Super Bowl the Bills would not be denied destroying the Raiders by a score of 51-3 before a sold out frenzied crowd at Rich Stadium.

The following year (1991), the Bills offense was even stronger as Thurman Thomas won the Offensive Player of the Year and NFL MVP 2,038 All-Purpose Yards and 12 Touchdowns. Meanwhile Jim Kelly had another stellar season passing for 3,844 yards as the Bills cored 458 points and took the AFC East for the 4th straight season with a 13-3 record. The Bills defense showed why they too are one of the best units in the NFL as they held the Denver Broncos scoreless until the final minutes as the Bills won a trip to their 2nd straight Super Bowl with a 10-7 win.

1992 when the Bills offense was Once again become stronger as Thurman Thomas post 2,113 All-Purpose Yards. The Bills offense involved a mark in history , September 13th when the Bills beat the 49ers 34-31 in San Francisco in the first NFL game without a punt. Still flying high the Bills went on to beat the Steelers 24-3 in the Divisional Playoffs at Pittsburgh. IN the AFC Championship they would get another charge when Jim Kelly returned to lead the Bills to a 29-10 win over the Dolphins to earn their 3rd straight AFC Championship.

In the Divisional Playoffs (1993), the Bills held off the Los Angeles Raiders by a score of 29-23 to earn their 4th straight trip to the AFC Championship Game. Facing the Kansas City Chiefs the Bills knocked Joe Montana out early, as they won going away 30-13 to claim a record 4th straight AFC Championship.

Super Bowl XXVIII: The Bills became the first team ever to play in 4 straight Super Bowls.

Author Box
Clarkbf has 1 articles online

ClarkBF is a sports enthusiast. He is a football follower particularly the NFL. If you find this article interesting you may visit his webpage to know more about the Buffalo Bills or you may read other NFL articles written by him.

Add New Comment

The Buffalo Bills

Log in or Create Account to post a comment.
Security Code: Captcha Image Change Image
This article was published on 2010/03/15